First Day

You didn’t turn around

You just looked ahead

Letting someone else

Hold you instead.

 

You didn’t look back

Without fear you went

Not a murmur or moan

Or sign of dissent.

 

You didn’t hesitate

Your confidence clear

Not a shred of worry

Or a hint of fear.

 

You showed no doubt

Not a falling tear

Or vociferous cry

For all to hear.

 

You held yourself

With poise and grace

Not a single frown

On your pretty face.

 

But I was the one

Who let out a sob

An ache in my chest

That I could feel throb.

 

My tears a mix

Of joy and of pride

For the first time we weren’t

Right by your side.

 

You didn’t turn around

You made my heart soar

My little baby girl

We couldn’t ask for more.

Prose for Thought

 

 

This entry was posted in Rhymes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to First Day

  1. This made me a bit emotional!! Such a lovely poem and a real sense of mothers pride despite the emotional side xx #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh wow just wow! I know this feeling – so so beautifully said #KCACOLS

    Like

  3. BEAUTIFUL!!! Absolutely love this piece.
    It captured a mother’s love and pride so well. The voice behind this poem, so emotional, yet so incredibly proud. Wonderful ❤ #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. lovely words. very emotional, made me stop think and re-read XX

    #KCACOLS

    Like

  5. Beautifully captured moment of all the different emotions a parent feels X #kcacols

    Like

  6. Aww this made me sad! Excellent poem.

    #ABrandNewDay

    Liked by 1 person

  7. twotinyhands says:

    Lovely poem, you really are a great poet. Thank you for sharing with us at #abrandnewday

    Liked by 1 person

  8. maddy@writingbubble says:

    This is gorgeous – captures those emotions so well! #prose4t

    Like

  9. This made me quite emotional to read, such beautiful words #prose4t

    Like

  10. Oh, this is perfect. It sums up that bittersweet pride when they become more independent. Lovely x #prose4t

    Like

  11. This is EXACTLY how I felt on Grace’s first day of term! It is perfectly expressed. Thank you for linking to Prose for Thought 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I cried on my daughter’s first day at school, and the last day of her first year (today!) Don’t know how I will survive the next decade or so of the education system, and we have a younger daughter… 🙂

    https://spookymrsgreen.com/2015/09/03/a-message-for-my-daughter-on-your-first-day-at-school/

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Michelle G says:

    Thanks very much. It’s tough isn’t it! Will hop across and look at your post x 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

